Start of Content Area

Process documentationCreating a Task  Locate the document in its SAP Library structure

Purpose

You can create tasks using the Task wizard. Task creation takes place in a simple one page screen allowing for creation of a task where workflow controls the lifecycle of the task.

You may assign the task to a group of users as a whole or each individually. Alternatively, you can define a sequence of separate multiple step task, assigned to a single user or separate users. Once created, additional properties can be set using the task Details page. Completed tasks may require an additional approval step or the process can be finished by a task completion step.

Some of the frequently used terms which are present on the Collaboration Task user interface and also in this guide are listed below:

Task

A task is a request for a work process to one or more users. These users are called the assignees. In this document the user creating the task has also been referred to as the creator or the initiator of the task.

Trackers

A task also has users responsible for tracking the progress of the work time, these users are called the trackers. The user creating the task is a tracker by default. For a simple one step task, also known as the quick task, the tracker is an approver for that task as well.

A tracker can :

        Monitor the progress of the task

        Receive notifications on updates / about completion of the task

Nominator

User who designates work to other users.

For information on the nomination process see Request For Nomination.

Nominee

User who has been proposed to act on a task.

Process Flow for Creating a Task

...

       1.      From the UWL view, choose Create Task.

       2.      Select Task from the Task Type dropdown selection.

       3.      On the Task wizard enter the required information. For details on the fields see section Wizard Details below. The required fields are marked by asterisk (*).

       4.      Choose Send to send the task to the assignees.

Wizard Details

Description of Parameters

Parameter

Description

Title

Title or subject to identify the task. It is a required field.

Assigned to

Select or enter the Ids of those users you want to assign the task to. You also have an option to decide whether the assignees can decline the tasks, and also decide if you want to separate the tasks for each assignee.

Priority

Defines the workflow  priority. This affects the urgency of the tasks that will be generated by the workflow.

Due

Defines the deadlines for the process step by entering due date and time. Choose the calendar icon to select the due date or enter manually in mm/dd/yyyy format. Select the time from the dropdown selection or enter manually in hh:mm format. (Note: the date and time you enter here refers to the date and time on the server machine).

You also have an option to select ASAP. The ASAP option indicates that the task has to be completed as soon as possible. No dates are specified.

Description

An overall task description. These notes will be visible to all process participants.

Trackers

Tracking and final approval is by the user defined in this field. You can assign more than one user to track and approve the task.

The assigned trackers can view and participate in the task progress from their task list.

Task Requires Final Approval

Task only consists of a task completion step or is a combination of task completion and approval of task completion.

This is an optional selection.

Allow Assignees to Decline Task

Assignees can decline task.

Separate Task for Each Assignee

In case of multiple assignees, each assignee can be assigned a different task.

Notification

None

No notification is sent.

When Complete

A notification is sent on completion of the task process.

On updates, completion and  If overdue

Notification is sent on completion of the task, any updates of the task or when reaching the task due dates.

Attachments

Launches the Attachment view. You can attach arbitrary documents to workflow instances. These documents are visible to all workflow participants. You can also delete attachments.

Choose Upload to upload items from your local PC.

To add documents or links within the portal, choose Add. Follow the instructions on the screen to add documents.

Task Actions

An assignee (user to whom the task is assigned) can confirm or decline a task.

Note

A user can decline a task only if the option Assignees can decline task is selected by the task creator.

The following figure shows the possible steps a task assignee can perform after the task has been assigned.

Confirming a Task

This graphic is explained in the accompanying text

Rejecting a Single Step Task

When a single step task is rejected by a tracker it is sent back to the task assignee(s). The progress of the task is automatically set to 50 percent and its status is In Progress. The task assignee can then submit the task again to the tracker by choosing Complete Task. The status of the task changes to Confirmed. To break the cycle the tracker can either delete or approve the task.

Deleting a Task

Once a task is deleted, all related tasks are also deleted. See example below for further clarification.

Example

User 1 creates a feedback task, assigns it to user 2 and user 3.

User 2 completes the task.

User 3 declines the task.

User 1 receives the task declined by user 3. User 1 deletes the task.

At this point, the task (item) from user 2 is also deleted, user 1 is not able to see it from tracking anymore.

...

Rejecting a Task Versus Declining a Task

The terms rejecting and declining a task can be confused in the context of Collaboration Tasks.

An approver of an approval step in a task may choose to reject - this means that he/she does not approve of the previous Action Item(s) and requires these previous steps to be redone and resubmitted for approval.

When an assignee declines a task, this means that the assignee refuses to participate in the task. That is, the assignee may not have even examined any steps in the task and / or has done no work on his assigned step. In this case, the task trackers are notified of the declination, and may reassign the task to some other users.

Result

The approvers / recipients / assignees see the workflow item in their task list.

Depending on the notifications selected in the creation wizard, the workflow’s users tracking the task will receive status notifications as the workflow assignees perform work or respond to approve / reject tasks. The workflow creator can also view the status of an active workflow by going to the Tasks screen in the Universal Worklist and viewing details of the appropriate process. All steps that have been executed in the process so far are displayed.

After completion of a process, all steps along with the comments entered by the process participants are displayed in the Completed Requests screen in the Universal Worklist of the initiator of the workflow.

See also:

Multiple Step Task Creation

For the Universal Worklist user interface descriptions see The Universal Worklist.

End of Content Area